Reading for pleasure
  • Twitter
    S’inscrire à la newsletter
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

On The Run

“It must be long past midnight. The neighbours must have woken up, they’d have to be deaf not to hear the coming and going in the staircase, the relentless flashing of the emergency lights. A bad dream. She might well try to fight it, but the feeling of delusion has paralysed her. Breathe. It will come back. Breathe…

Jeanne has forgotten two hours of her life.
Two hours during which her companion was stabbed.
When the police arrives, she only remembers having woken up at his side, in a pool of blood.
Before that, nothing.
She must get her memory back.
Quickly.
When she begins receiving anonymous phone calls, she has no choice. She flees.
On the run, she will have to untangle the threads of her past and confront a childhood guilt that has never ceased gnawing away at her.

With On The Run, Virginie Jouannet draws us into the desperate flight of a woman toward freedom ; a woman spied upon and stalked, and victim of her own nightmares. A novel that conveys, in a luminous language, the cruel power of secrets.

Virginie Jouannet has devoted herself to writing for years now. She has written plays, poetry and short stories. She lives in Bayonne (France). On The Run is her second novel.

Author's interview

On The Run is you second novel. How would you describe it?

It’s a novel which, through a love story, plays with the dramatic aspects of secret. What I wanted to do was to express the urgency of my character and her quest. Jeanne is in grave danger, not only because she feels tracked, but because secrets and guilt are slowly killing her. The discovery of a crime is a turning point for her. I like the idea of turning points in life. Sometimes they are obvious and shake you with brutality, sometimes they are insidious, almost unnoticed. The theme of the escape, the departure, has always fascinated me. The idea of slamming the door, changing everything, sometimes even like a “good housekeeper”: everything’s neat, clean, clear and final. The page is turned and they is no going back. This is surely the most feminine part of the novel, this capacity of women to leave. Maybe I am idealizing these courageous fugitives, but it takes recklessness to want to change everything and run towards the unknown. These escapes, rather than stampedes, are more rebirths to me.

The suspenseful intrigue that underpins the novel allows you to tackle more intimate and psychological themes, like family secrets, identity, twinship or even escape. Can you tell us more about it?

Family secrets are the base of our stories, of our lives. We all carry generational traces, and it is a formidable haven of stories. The character of Anne, Jeanne’s twin sister, imposed herself over the writing process, although I had not planned her. What interested me was to speak about a link strong enough to never leave you and with a possibility of violence; the idea of a double, the otherness and, mirroring, the identity. Who am I, who are you? These questions haunt us. Sometimes, answering the second one gives us the illusion that we know who we are, by a sort of shortcut. It is neither completely untrue of sufficient ever, of course.


At the start of your novel, your heroine is a fragile and broken woman, who has to face the external world’s violence. But in the end, doesn’t she have to face another form of violence, more internal this time, and from which she protects herself with amnesia?

Jeanne is a character that has been quite shaken by life. She has been holding on without flinching, like a good soldier, until that brutal external event – a crime – forces us to let go. The amnesia she suffers from is a way to speak about the illusions we keep holding on, about the strength of denial, the internal violence we inflict upon ourselves because the unknown seems far more formidable than a familiar pain. This “cavern instinct”, if I may call it that way, can sometimes imprison us in unsatisfying or tragic lives. On the contrary, what interested me with On The Run was to speck about the possibility of fleeing, not only to escape but to decide to jump. With this question: would we fall or fly?

On the run, Jeanne founds refuge in a small hostel in Biarritz where she will meet singular characters, and in particular Emil. Can you tell us about this Norwegian night watchman?

Sending Jeanne to Biarritz, a place of childhood happiness for me, was to put her somewhere safe. I wanted a hostel that would be like a shell, or a small and reassuring theatre in which Jeanne would be able to catch her breath, a place that would be both a shelter and an open door on the world. Emil’s character was first born from the need to go out of Jeanne’s head and to see her through another’s point of view. And this different point of view, before I really decided it, had to be foreign. Why Norwegian? I don’t know Norway, but I like the Scandinavian literature, and the challenge appealed to me. As for the love that surprises Jeanne, it is the last – or first – step of her release. And, more generally, it is the absolute resort of our stories. It became an evidence, as the pages went on. May it be self-love – the most difficult – or the love of another, nothing is more worth living for. Nothing without love, no salvation, no raison d’être. Neither glory, nor power, nor the violence of trauma, nor withdrawal can hold face to this marvel, this peace. Love, in On The Run, comes like an evidence.

Your powerful writing serves a constant narrative tension. How do you write? 

I write as I’d like to paint, in touches that I successively brush, work and rework until I get a small melody. I need it to be vibrant, and rhythm is essential to understand. Senses too. It seems that with me words pass through the body more than they do through the brain. I need to feel the character’s emotions, to breathe them, to enter “under their skin”. I am also very intuitive, almost like a will to go blindly, without knowing. I like beyond measure writing about emotions, in an almost wild way. As a reader, I am quite insensitive to texts that are solely beautiful, or so polished and constrained that they don’t breathe any more. They end up boring me, because I can find no echo in them, and a world without echo is bound to be a little artificial.

How much is writing important for you? What place does it have in your life?

I’ve been writhing for a long time: theatre, poems, novellas, scenarios. This desire to write comes from my reading. I’ve made myself while reading. As a child, I read everything and anything. All that mattered was for the words to fill me, to console me, to give a shape to the world. Between nine and eleven years old, I went from the Gospels to Bob Morane. And then, in my teenage years, it was Victor Hugo and rather quickly the Russian shock: Dostoevsky. These major books get under your skin and built a vision of the world. In my path as an author, On The Run is for me a turning point. I’ve spent four years writing this novel and it accompanied me at an important moment of my personal life. It gives the feeling that I unlocked something and that I can access another fluidity. As soon as I can, I will dive into the next one. I don’t know yet what aspect it will have, but I can feel it coming, a vague shape and some swift desires, silhouettes, a child, and the themes that have always inspired me: childhood, difference, exile…

lire toute l’interview

Inscription à la newsletter

Lire pour le plaisir
  • Twitter
    S’inscrire à la newsletter
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Cavale

« Minuit doit être passé depuis longtemps. Les voisins ont dû se réveiller, il faudrait être sourd pour ignorer le va-et-vient dans les escaliers, les éclats des gyrophares qui clignotent inlassablement. Un mauvais rêve. Elle a beau lutter, le sentiment d’irréalité la paralyse. Respire. Ça va revenir. Respire… »

Jeanne a oublié deux heures de sa vie.
Deux heures pendant lesquelles son compagnon a été poignardé.
À l’arrivée de la police, elle se souvient seulement s’être réveillée à ses côtés, dans une mare de sang.
Avant cela, rien.
Jeanne doit retrouver la mémoire.
Vite.
Quand commencent les appels anonymes, elle n’a plus le choix. Elle s’enfuit.
Au cours de sa folle cavale, il lui faudra dénouer les fils de son passé et faire face à une culpabilité d’enfance qui ne cesse de la ronger.

Avec Cavale, Virginie Jouannet nous entraîne dans la fuite éperdue d’une femme vers la liberté ; une femme épiée, traquée et victime de ses propres cauchemars. Un roman qui exprime, dans une langue lumineuse, la force cruelle des secrets.

Depuis des années, Virginie Jouannet se consacre à l’écriture. Elle est l’auteure de pièces de théâtre, de poésies, de nouvelles. Elle vit actuellement à Bayonne. Cavale est son deuxième roman.

Interview de l’auteur

Cavale est votre second roman. Comment le définissez-vous ?

C’est un roman qui, à travers une histoire d’amour, joue avec les ressorts dramatiques du secret. Ce que j’ai voulu, c’est rendre l’urgence du personnage, de sa quête. Jeanne est en danger de mort, pas seulement parce qu’elle se sent poursuivie, mais parce que le secret, le non-dit et la culpabilité sont en train de la tuer à petits feux. La découverte d’un crime joue, pour elle, comme un point de bascule. J’aime bien cette idée des bascules dans la vie. Parfois elles sont flagrantes et vous bousculent avec brutalité, parfois elles sont insidieuses, presque inaperçues. Le thème de la fuite, du départ, m’a toujours fascinée. L’idée de claquer la porte, de tout changer, parfois même en « bonne ménagère ». Tout est net, propre, rangé, définitif. On tourne la page et il n’y a plus de retour en arrière possible. Cela, sans doute, est la part la plus féminine du roman, la capacité qu’ont les femmes à partir. Peut-être que je me fais une image idéale de ces fuyardes courageuses, mais il faut de la témérité pour vouloir tout changer et foncer droit dans l’inconnu. Ses fuites m’apparaissent moins comme des débandades que comme des renaissances.

L’intrigue à suspense qui sous-tend le roman vous permet d’aborder des thématiques plus intimes, plus psychologiques, comme les secrets de famille, l’identité, la gémellité ou bien encore la fuite. Pouvez-vous nous en dire plus ?

Les secrets de famille sont fondateurs de nos histoires, de nos vies. Nous portons tous des traces générationnelles, et c’est un formidable réservoir à histoires. Le personnage d’Anne, la jumelle de Jeanne, s’est imposé au fil de l’écriture sans que je la voie venir. Ce qui m’intéressait, c’était de parler d’un lien assez fort pour qu’il colle à la peau et contienne une violence potentielle, l’idée du double, l’altérité et, en miroir, l’identité. Qui suis-je, qui es-tu ? Ces questions-là nous hantent. Parfois, répondre à la seconde donne l’illusion de savoir qui nous sommes, par une sorte de raccourci. Ce n’est pas entièrement faux ni jamais suffisant, bien sûr.


Votre héroïne, Jeanne, est, au début du roman, une femme fragile, « morcelée », qui doit affronter la violence du monde extérieure. Mais finalement ne doit-elle pas affronter une autre forme de violence plus intérieure cette fois-ci,  et dont elle se protège par l’amnésie ?

Jeanne est un personnage de femme assez chahutée par la vie. Elle a tenu longtemps sans flancher, comme un bon petit soldat, jusqu’à ce que cet événement extérieur brutal – un crime – lui fasse lâcher prise. L’amnésie dont elle est victime est une façon de parler des illusions auxquelles on s’accroche, de la force du déni, des violences intérieures que l’on s’inflige parce que l’inconnu semble bien plus redoutable qu’une douleur familière. Cet « instinct de la caverne », si j’ose dire, peut parfois enfermer dans des existences insatisfaisantes ou tragiques. Ce qui m’intéressait, au contraire, avec Cavale, était de raconter la possibilité de fuir non pas seulement pour s’échapper mais pour se décider à sauter dans le vide. Avec cette question : va-t-on chuter ou s’envoler ?

Pendant sa cavale, Jeanne trouve refuge dans un petit hôtel de Biarritz où elle va croiser des personnages singuliers, notamment Emil. Parlez-nous un peu de ce veilleur de nuit norvégien pas comme les autres ?

En envoyant Jeanne à Biarritz, qui est pour moi un lieu d’enfance heureux, je l’ai mise en lieu sûr. Je voulais un hôtel qui soit comme une coquille, ou un théâtre miniature rassurant dans lequel Jeanne pourrait reprendre souffle, un endroit qui soit à la fois un refuge et une porte sur le monde. Le personnage d’Emil, lui, est d’abord né de la nécessité de sortir de la tête de Jeanne et de la voir à travers le regard d’un autre. Et cet autre, sans que je le décide vraiment, devait être étranger. Pourquoi norvégien ? Je ne connais pas la Norvège, mais j’aime la littérature scandinave, et le défi que représentait ce personnage m’a plu. Quant à l’amour qui surprend Jeanne, c’est le dernier – ou premier – élément de sa libération. Et d’une façon plus large, c’est le ressort absolu de nos histoires. Cela s’est imposé, au fil des pages. Que ce soit l’amour de soi – le plus difficile – ou l’amour de l’autre, il n’existe rien d’autre qui vaille la peine de vivre. Rien sans amour, pas de salut, pas de sens à la vie. Ni la gloire, ni le pouvoir, ni la violence des traumatismes, ni l’enfermement ne tiennent face à cet éblouissement, à cette paix. L’amour, dans Cavale, vient comme une évidence.

Votre écriture, puissante, est mise au service d’une tension narrative constante. Comment écrivez-vous ?

J’écris comme je voudrais peindre, par touches que je dépose successivement, que je travaille et retravaille jusqu’à obtenir une petite musique. J’ai besoin que ça vibre, et le rythme est essentiel pour comprendre. Les sens aussi. Il me semble que chez moi les mots passent moins par le cerveau que par le corps. Je dois ressentir l’émotion du personnage, le respirer, « rentrer sous sa peau ». Il y a aussi chez moi une grande part d’intuition, presque une volonté d’y aller à l’aveugle, sans savoir. J’aime par-dessus tout écrire les émotions, de façon presque animale. Comme lectrice, je suis assez peu perméable aux textes uniquement beaux, ou tellement travaillés et corsetés qu’ils ne respirent plus. Ils finissent par m’ennuyer, parce que je n’y trouve pas d’échos, et un monde sans échos est forcément un peu factice.

Quelle est la place de l’écriture dans votre vie ?

J’écris depuis longtemps : du théâtre, de la poésie, des nouvelles, des scénarios. Et ce désir d’écrire vient précisément de mes lectures. Je me suis construite avec les livres. Enfant, je lisais tout et n’importe quoi pourvu que les mots m’irriguent, me remplissent, me consolent, pourvu qu’ils donnent une forme au monde. Entre neuf et onze ans, je suis passée des Évangiles à Bob Morane. Et puis, à l’adolescence, cela a été Victor Hugo et très vite le choc russe, Dostoïevski. Ces livres majeurs vous rentrent dans la peau et vous fabriquent une vision du monde. Dans mon parcours d’auteur, Cavale, pour moi, est un tournant. J’ai mis quatre ans à écrire ce roman et il m’a accompagnée à un moment clef de ma vie personnelle. Il me donne l’impression d’avoir débloqué quelque chose et d’accéder à une autre fluidité. Dès que je le pourrai, je plongerai dans le prochain. Je ne sais pas encore quelle sera sa tournure, mais je peux presque le sentir approcher, une forme vague et quelques envies fulgurantes, des silhouettes, une enfant, et ces thèmes qui m’inspirent depuis toujours : l’enfance, la différence, l’exil…

lire toute l’interview

Inscription à la newsletter